NBA Development League Expansion

The NBA Development League features an all-time high 22 teams during the 2016-17 season, each singly affiliated with an NBA parent club.

The league launched with eight teams in 2001-02.

Number of NBA Development League Teams By Season
Season ’01-’02 ’02-’03 ’03-’04 ’04-’05 ’05-’06 ’06-’07 ’07-’08 ’08-’09 ’09-’10 ’10-’11 ’11-’12 ’12-’13 ’13-’14 ’14-’15 ’15-’16 ’16-’17 ’17-’18
No. Teams 8 8 6 6 8 12 14 16 16 16 16 16 17 18 19 22 25


Three NBA franchises purchased new NBA Development League affiliates that began play this season: the Charlotte Hornets (Greensboro Swarm), Brooklyn Nets (Long Island Nets) and Chicago Bulls (Windy City Bulls).

Two other NBA franchises purchased and relocated their affiliates this past offseason: the Utah Jazz (Salt Lake City Stars) and Phoenix Suns (Northern Arizona Suns).


Five NBA franchises have purchased or intend to purchase NBA D-League affiliates, including three new teams, which will expand the league to 25 teams next season. For 2017-18:

  • The Milwaukee Bucks have purchased an expansion team to begin play in Oshkosh, Wisc.
  • The Memphis Grizzlies have purchased an expansion team to begin play in Southaven, Miss.
  • The Orlando Magic have purchased the Erie BayHawks and intend to rename and relocate the team to Lakeland, Fla.
  • The Atlanta Hawks have purchased an NBA D-League affiliate that will begin play as the Erie BayHawks before relocating to College Park, Ga., in 2019-20
  • The Minnesota Timberwolves have announced a letter of intent to purchase the Iowa Energy, the Grizzlies’ current affiliate.

Learn more about the new teams:

Lakeland Magic (Orlando Magic)

Announced: December 14, 2016 | Official Release

Location: Lakeland, Fla.

Home Arena: The Lakeland Center

More Info: LakelandMagic.com

Milwaukee Bucks: Coming in 2017-18

Announced: February 8, 2017 | Official Release

Location: Oshkosh, Wisc.

Home Arena: Under construction

More Info: FoxValleyBasketball.com

Memphis Grizzlies: Coming in 2017-18


Announced: January 24, 2017 | Official Release

Location: Southaven, Miss.

Home Arena: Landers Center

More Info: MemphisDLeague.com

Minnesota Timberwolves: Coming in 2017-18

Announced: January 23, 2017 | Official Release

Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Team Name: Iowa Energy

Home Arena: Wells Fargo Arena

Atlanta Hawks: Coming in 2017-18


Announced: Nov. 10, 2016 & January 31, 2017 | Official Release

Location: Erie, Pa. (2017-18 & 2018-19); College Park, Ga. (2019-20)

Home Arena: Coming Summer of 2019 (Gateway Center)

Greensboro Swarm (Charlotte Hornets)


Announced: Oct. 27, 2015 | Official Release | Logo & Team Name Revealed

Location: Greensboro, N.C.

Home Arena: Greensboro Coliseum Complex

More Info: Hornets.com/GSOSwarm


Long Island Nets (Brooklyn Nets)


Announced: Nov. 6, 2015 | Official Release | Logo & Uniforms Unveiled

Location: Brooklyn (2016-17), Uniondale, N.Y. (2017-18 and beyond)

Home Arena: Barclays Center (2016-17), Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum (2017-18 and beyond)

More Info: LongIslandNets.com


Windy City Bulls (Chicago Bulls)


Announced: Nov. 11, 2015 | Official Release| Logo & Team Name Revealed

Location: Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Home Arena: Sears Centre Arena

More Info: BullsDLeague.com


Salt Lake City Stars (Utah Jazz)


Announced: April 4, 2016 | Official Release

Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Home Arena: Lifetime Activities Center-Bruin Arena (Salt Lake Community College)

Formerly: Idaho Stampede

More Info: SLCStars.com


Northern Arizona Suns (Phoenix Suns)


Announced: April 12, 2016 | Official Release | Logo & Uniforms Unveiled

Location: Prescott Valley, Ariz.

Home Arena: Prescott Valley Event Center (PVEC)

Formerly: Bakersfield Jam

More Info: nazsuns.com